Out of a Woman’s Range

I told my mum I wanted to explore

All the lands of the world; all those ashore

She said to me,’ You’re a woman with busts and butts

And you know there are men and they all have their lusts.

You might end up being the one explored.’

Told dad  I want to be a carpenter

H’ looked at me like I dropped from Jupiter

He said to me, “You know that you are a lady

And  tools and materials for this job are heavy

You might as well build your coffin instead.”

I told myself that I wanted to change

Some things that seem out of a woman’s range

I said to myself,’ You know you are a missy

And many things exist only in fantasy

But you might get what you always wanted.’

2 thoughts on “Out of a Woman’s Range

Leave a Reply

